Since When Was Freedom of Speech a Way For You to Get Banned?

So here I am, at work, perusing the RedFlagDeals.com forums.  I noticed that someone posted an item up for sale for an “iPhone 4 Brand New in Box Factory Unlocked 32GB”.  The part that caught my eye was the price.  He/she was listing it for $860. 

After I laughed for a good 30 minutes, I decided to comment on this ridiculous price and post.  I replied, verbatim:

Are you for real?  You really think you’re going to sell your phone at this price?  It is literally the same price if you buy it from Apple, with Free Shipping as well.  Good luck with your sale.  This is the price that some people pay for rent in a month.  Disgusting.

This reply resulting in myself getting banned for three days, simply because I was (what the moderators call) threadcrapping.  I honestly couldn’t care less, but moderators should worry more about the content of other people’s post instead of me pointing out the obvious to one greedy person.  Epic fail.

5 thoughts on “Since When Was Freedom of Speech a Way For You to Get Banned?

  1. While I dont agree with the ban, most people post a high price because they suspect they will have to negotiate down to something lower anyways. Most people would not appreciate negative comments in a thread that they are trying to sell something, unless you were pointing out something that the seller was being deceiving about.

  2. I completely agree with you. Why ban someone who is actually helping the buyers? I mean I get it’s negative for him, because once people realize what you’re saying is true, they won’t want to pay that price.

    But he shouldn’t be allowed to try to scam people out of their money like that. I’d be impressed if someone was actually dumb enough to buy it instead of getting it for the same price from a reputable source.

    And to Joe, he WAS pointing out something deceiving… the price, lol.

  3. Redflagdeals Moderators are totally F*** !!! they banned me for the same reason (someone posting a used item for sale at a price higher than I paid for the same item NEW after coupon and I simply pointed that out politely without any insults or jokes …. very facts based). I thought the idea of RFD was to save people money !!?? I am getting banned for helping people not to waste their money on overpriced used stuff !!! RFD moderators need to get a COMMON SENSE training !!!

Leave a Reply

