Samsung Galaxy S4: This Is Not My Next

I guess those leaks over the past couple of weeks were right all along.

The Samsung Galaxy S4 was revealed earlier today, and was it ever underwhelming. Let’s just get one thing out of the way – I couldn’t care less about the fanboys or people who are choosing to upgrade to the Galaxy S4. I’m just giving my opinion on why there are better options out there (HTC’s The One comes to mind).

The S4 is one slab of tech that looks like a shrunken down version of the Galaxy Note II. The specs are impressive, don’t get me wrong. 5″ 1080p screen, an octo-core processor that will only come to certain markets (North America is only getting the quad-core version – fail), a 13 megapixel camera, and a smattering of gimmicky features that make me want to vomit. All the talk about using your eyes to control what’s going on on your device is mind-numbing. Have we really come to the point where to go to the next page of an article, we can’t flick our fingers anymore?

And that plastic. Dear god, that plastic.

When you take away all the flash and flair, the pomp and circumstance, what are you really left with? The Galaxy S3.5. And guess what? HTC’s The One will be completely eclipsed, even though it’s a gorgeous device, that, in my opinion, crushes anything that Samsung releases.

3 thoughts on “Samsung Galaxy S4: This Is Not My Next

  1. lol, “And that plastic. Dear god, that plastic.” I really wish they would use classier material for the shell but I guess this polycarbonate keeps the weight down. I was floored at Octo-core…really WHY? I just know every ding bat will need the oct-core…you know to text faster…lol. Great write up, I am happy with my plastic S3, I want to root it but I have no time and to big a wuss to try.

    • I honestly don’t mind the trade off in weight if it means a sturdier device that has a nice heft to it. Once again, the HTC One and One X comes to mind.

      Only root if you’re comfortable doing it!! I cannot stress that enough. I tried to tinker with one of my older devices and it didn’t go over too well.

    • Oh, and while an octo-core processor sounds great on paper, in practice it doesn’t make a difference because nothing (yet) utilizes those additional cores. The benchmark results weren’t spectacular either, putting it close to the scores of the DROID DNA and the One X+.

Leave a Reply

